ESL One Cologne 2017 Viewers Guide

ESL One Cologne is back, with a $250,000 prize pool!

ESL One Cologne will take place at the LANXESS Arena from July 4th to July 9th, featuring 16 of the world’s best CSGO teams.

Cologne will be the Ninjas’ first tournament playing with REZ on the roster.

The Teams:

Ninjas in Pyjamas (Invited)
Cloud9 (Invited)
FaZe Clan (Invited)
Fnatic (Invited)
Immortals (Invited)
mousesports (Invited)
Natus Vincere (Invited)
North (Invited)
OpTic (Invited)
SK Gaming (Invited)
Virtus.Pro (Invited)
Team Liquid (NA Qualifier)
Heroic (Europe Qualifier)
Space Soldiers (Europe Qualifier)
TyLoo (China Qualifier)

The Format:

ESL One Cologne will be played in a Swiss Format

This format involves five best-of-one rounds of play, with teams who win 3 games advancing, and teams who lose 3 games being eliminated. After the initial matchups, teams will play other teams with the same win/loss record as them (a team who is 1-0 after the first day will play another team going 1-0 the second day, and they are guaranteed to play a team they haven’t yet played in their group). After the end of the fifth round, 8 teams will have secured their spots in the playoffs with the other 8 being eliminated. 

Playoffs will be single-elimination with quarter and semi finals being best-of-three, and the Grand Finals being best-of-five.

Initial Matchups:

Main Stream:

mousesports vs. fnatic (12:00 CEST)

Immortals vs. Virtus.Pro (13:15 CEST)

Ninjas in Pyjamas vs. Cloud9 (14:30 CEST)

Natus Vincere vs. Team Liquid (15:45 CEST)


FaZe vs. Heroic (12:00 CEST)

SK Gaming vs. Space Soldiers (13:15 CEST)

TyLoo vs. G2 Esports (14:30 CEST)

North vs. OpTic Gaming (15:45 CEST)

The Talent:

Host: Paul “Redeye” Chaloner

Desk Host: Alex “Machine” Richardson

Reporter: Tres “stunna” Saranthus

Commentators: Anders “Anders” Blume, Auguste “Semmler” Massonnat, Henry “HenryG” Greer, Matthew “Sadokist” Trivett,          Jason “moses” O’Toole, Lauren “Pansy” Scott

Analysts: Janko “YNk” Paunović, Chad “SPUNJ” Burchill, Adam “friberg” Friberg

Observers: Heather “sapphiRe” Garozzo, David DJ “Prius” Kuntz, Patricia von Halle